Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A new year, a new resolution.

But this year is going to be different. I’m going to make myself stick to my resolution this time. I really am.

It helps that for the first time I haven’t set myself a task I not-so-secretly don’t want to do like stopping eating chocolate or waking up earlier to have more time in the day.

This year my resolution is to complete the Goodreads reading challenge. The mission that I have chosen to accept? To read fifty books by the end of the year.

logo

At university I read shockingly little for pleasure. Pretty much all the books I read over my three years as a Creative Writing and English student were set texts (and even then I didn’t exactly read them all).

Although I started to read much more once I graduated earlier this last year I really want to buck up and start reading properly again.

And that means delving into my once dreaded genre: non-fiction.

I read exactly 1.5 non-fiction books last year: The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson and half of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain (I’m currently reading the second half).

I really enjoyed and am enjoying both of these books and they’ve opened my eyes to the fact that non-fiction doesn’t have to be what I always thought it was: boring and stuffy.

What’s your New Year’s resolution?

