Tags

, , , , , ,

While I was at University, I found it hard to read books that were just for me and not for my course. A lot of this was due to a lack of time but a lot more of it was due to my laziness. Over the last three years I have read shockingly little for a book lover and English student.

My bookshelf would wink at me from from the wall opposite my bed and my eyes would fall on spine after spine of books. I wanted to read, I did. I wanted that satisfying feeling of sliding a book out from between others and turning over the first page. 

But I hardly ever gave in.

Something inside me suggested that watching old episodes of Sex and the City and new episodes of Glee was a much better idea. After all, I could eat chocolate without having to worry about leaving stains on the book’s pages.

But I have decided to rectify this dire situation.

Armed with my Goodreads ‘to-read’ list and my last pay cheque, I have complied that greatest of all lists, my reading list.

I have given myself ten spots to fill and my mission (which I have chosen to accept): to have read them all by the end of the year.

So, without further ado, here it is:

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A. S. King

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

Written on the Body by Jeanette Winterson

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

What are you reading at the moment? Do you have a reading list?

